Monday, August 27, 2007

$3 Billion Dollars!!!!!

That is what is estimated to be the amount that the American people spend at yard sales each year!! Wow ! That is a huge amount considering that yard sales do not go on year around. That is a ton of money. I hope that when I have my next yard sale some of it comes my way!

Sunday, August 26, 2007

This was a Great Yardsale Weekend!!

Me and my hubby spent friday and saturday going to yardsales!!
WoW!!
We found some great things.
I found 4 new American Eagle shirts for my son, 2 new pair of shorts, and a Magic the Gathering card set for a whole 25 cents at one yard sale and spent a total of 2 dollars!!!!!
We went to another yard sale and I got a Hall China Teapot with nothing wrong with it for a whole 25 cents.
My hubby got our 11 month old son a Leappad learning pad for 2 dollars. It also came with one book.
I got my daughter 3 shirts at one yardsale that are real nice and only 1.00 for all of them.
I know I am forgetting alot of stuff. We got so much and hardly spent any money.
It was so much fun. It was so weird no yard sales for so long and the few there have been priced really high , and then BAM all of a sudden hundreds of yard sales and priced like they were when I was a kid in the 1970's!! All of the yard sales we went to were priced so low. 10 cents was the norm. We got a stack of movies on dvd for 2 dollars!!!! new ones too.

I hope this is something that will stick around.

Monday, August 20, 2007

Garage Sale Smarts

I have participated in neighborhood garage sales and worked at church rummage sales. Both were enjoyable experiences and I learned things from them. One of the things I learned was how to spot an experienced shopper. You can tell these people the minute they walk in the door. Entertainers would say these shoppers "worked the room." You can work the room by following these shopping tips.

ARRIVE EARLY. Years ago my husband and I participated in an eight-family garage sale. Though the sale started at 8 a.m. people started lining up at 6:30 a.m. By starting time the crowd was huge. The first people in line got all the good stuff.

BRING A LIST. Your list should include the things you are looking for and the sizes people wear. Note other sizes as well if you are shopping for a group. Put a star by your top items. Stick to your list and resist impulse buying unless you find a bargain too good to pass up.

SCAN THE STOCK. Experienced shoppers circle the room quickly to see what is there. Signs may help you do this. Items should be displayed in categories if there are no signs. Make a bee-line for the top items on your list.

LOOK FOR BRAND NAMES. I was working at one rummage sale when a determined woman came in the door. She went through the clothing like a lawn mower through grass. In less than 15 minutes she had filled a huge box with designer clothes. After she left we tallied her purchases and found she had purchased $300+ worth of clothing for $50.

BUY IN BULK. Another church rummage sale shopper said he was buying clothes for an orphanage. We did not know if this was true, but sold him dozens of children's shirts, slacks, and socks at below bargain basement prices.

CHECK WORKABILITY AND PARTS. A lamp with a broken socket will not do much for you unless you are an electrician. Test electrics to ensure they are in working order. Also check games and puzzles for missing pieces.

LOOK FOR BOOK/VIDEO BARGAINS. Garage and rummage sales often have cheap books and videos. These items may be sale priced, such as five paperbacks for a buck. Cook book collectors may find vintage books at sales. Avid readers may find classics and best-sellers.

INQUIRE ABOUT SPECIALS. Many church rummage sales have specials just before closing. My church has a $1 all-you-can-fit in a bag special one hour before closing. Many shoppers come early, check the stock, do not buy anything, and return for bag special.

GET THE DATE. Churches have regular garage sales. Ask the cashier when the next sale will be and note it on your calendar. The family across the street from me has a garage sale every July. Experienced shoppers know this and watch for their ad. Garage and rummage sales are lots of fun when you use your shopping smarts.

Copyright 2007 by Harriet Hodgson

http://www.harriethodgson.com

Harriet Hodgson has been a freelance nonfiction writer for 28 years. She is a member of the Association of Health Care Journalists and the Association for Death Education and Counseling. Her 24th book, "Smiling Through Your Tears: Anticipating Grief," written with Lois Krahn, MD, is available from http://www.amazon.com A five-star review of the book is posted on Amazon. You will find other reviews on the American Hospice Foundation Web site ("School Corner" heading) and the Health Ministries Association Web site.

Thursday, August 9, 2007

ONline Garage Sale

I found an actual online garage sale. YOu can list your items that you have for sale or trade and then if someone sees tham and wants them they can reply.

ONline Garage Sale

Monday, August 6, 2007

Can One Man's Trash Really Be My Bedroom Decor Treasure?

You've probably never thought about recycled furniture as home decor. In fact, you might be disgusted by the thought of someone picking up your old furniture when you set it out on the curb for trash pickup. However, if you think about it, furniture is recycled all the time, with pieces being sold in garage sales or sent to Goodwill and other charity services for those who are less fortunate. If you are working with a small budget, a garage sale or a second hand store can actually be a great place to find your newest bedroom furniture item or decorative piece for the foyer.

Actually, if you think about it, all antiques are technically recycled, but because they often have a ridiculously high value attached to them, people don't see them as used. The same can be said of some second hand furniture, which you can even update yourself if you want to make it "like new", still costing much less than a new wrought iron bed or wood dresser. If you spend a Saturday or Sunday shopping garage sales and yard sales in your area, you could probably furnish an entire house for the cost of one or two new pieces, and just because the units you buy don't match doesn't mean you can't work with them.

For example, maybe you buy a TV armoire that is in nearly perfect condition at one yard sale, but it is a shade of brown that doesn't match your living room at all. At the next garage sale, you find a great storage ottoman, but it is olive green, which not only clashes with your current living room d├ęcor but also with the couch you just bought. You can go to a fabric store and purchase enough fabric in the color of your choice to recover both items or to even create simple slip covers that can be removed and washed for both items. Overall, with the cost of the two pieces used and the material, you've probably spent less than you would have on just the ottoman had you bought it brand new.

The same is true of wood furnishings. Perhaps you need to get an additional nightstand for your bedroom, and everything you have so far is cherrywood. Yet, at a second hand store, you find a piece that is the same style as your current shelving for a very low price that has an oak finish. It is quite easy to buy some sandpaper and apply a coat or two of cherrywood finish to a sanded unit, and the cost difference from buying a new unit is definitely worth the time.

So, next time you start thinking about how crazy some people are for buying used bedoom furniture, think twice about how crazy you may be for turning down the opportunity to purchase something that you can update yourself and save an outrageous amount of money. As the old adage says, one man's trash really is another man's treasure.

Ben Weissman writes articles about Affordable Modern Beds, Discount Bedroom Sets and Interior Design. You'll find more Decorating Ideas at Home-and-Bedroom.com Make your bedroom into a personal retreat!

Friday, August 3, 2007

Yard Sales This Morning

I actually got up early this morning and went to the five yard sales that were in our local paper. I got 2 like new outfits for my baby , got him some great toys, my daughter got some great like new aeropostale jeans for school and they were only 25 cents a pair, She also got some great 1980's style red flats, and some great shirts. I even got me a couple of pair of jeans. I got my son a couple of movies, a baseball, and a basket ball hoop for his bedroom. A small one. I think we did pretty good and even had a little bit of my 20 dollar budget left over.
It was way too hot though. We were all soaking wet with sweat by 8 o'clock. 97 degrees!!
Tomorrow we are getting up for my daughters high school dance teams yard sale.
Another HOT day!

Tuesday, July 31, 2007

Yard Sales Dreams

I have not been to a yard sale in a couple of weeks!! No other reason than that there have not been any! What is going on?? Are yard sales going away?? Am I just going to have to go to sleep at night dreaming of past yard sales and my treasures that I have found. I am planning on have one myself, but I feel that I will be ostrasized in my community because ,I guess, we are not supposed to have them anymore. Or maybe ,what I am hoping, is that everyone will see me having one and it will make them remember that there are things called yard sales and the whole town will start having them.
Who KNows??

Monday, July 30, 2007

Why We Go To Garage Sales

Every Thursday we read the local rag which has the local yard sale listings and the Twin Falls newspaper which covers the general area. Thus armed, we take off Friday morning and visit yard sales within about a 20 miles radius. We do the same thing on Saturday.

Damn the high gasoline prices, full speed ahead! Sometimes we wonder from Hagerman to Twin Falls.

Why do we do this?

Because we live in a small Idaho town where the closest thing to finding something interesting to do is to go to the town park and watch the kids try to kill themselves on their skateboards.

Actually, we got into the yard-sale habit in Payson Arizona where we lived for six years after I retired. Payson was almost as interesting as our Idaho town.

In Payson, I mainly purchased books. I had about 6000 when I left there. I was selling them on the Internet at Amazon.com and at Alibris.com.

I “sold” the business when I left Arizona and, because I’m too lazy, I have not started the business again in Idaho. (I’ve switched to direct mail where I make what is called “very little” or “indecent” money.) However, we still have a garage full of other stuff we bought at Arizona garage sales.

So, what do we get by going to yard sales? Nothing much, but here is my list:

1. My wife can find a doll to go with her other zillion dolls. She can buy clothing for her dolls too. She can chat about the dolls with the other garage-salers.

2. She also can do the same thing with the cuddly little bears.

3. I can look for tiny birds to put into the 6-foot tall bird cage I bought at another yard sale. The cage came in a fairly small box. The instructions were in some language of the Far East. I think the thing may have come from India. There were some instructions but I had to look at the pictures because I don’t read Far East English. Well, I had the thing together in no time at all (about a zillion hours). It turned out to be a real bird cage. I thought the cage would hold a lot of bird poop so I decided on phony birds (which are not that easy to find).

4. I can buy little items to put with my South American collection which is on a long table in our foyer. There are some wood carvings I bought in South America plus some gifts and some other carvings I’ve purchased here and there. I tried to find a suitable cloth for my long foyer table. I ended up buying it at Target® on the Internet (they let me use my Amazon account).

5. I also can buy wooden animal carvings which I like. To this I might add that we buy anything we think is cute.

6. I buy some tools, which I will never use and other odds and ends that I also have no use for. These will be sold at our future yard sale when we hope to clear enough junk out of our garage so that we can actually get at least one car in there. (Did I tell you about the great “authentic” English pub dart set and target we got at a farm a couple of weeks ago for under $25.00? I place it right up there with the $300.00 Mah Jong set we got in Arizona.)

7. The main reason we go yard sale-ing is to chat with strangers, many of which have become friends. Also, it is a great place to practice my Spanish. Yard sales is where the local immigrants purchase clothing for their kids and anything that looks like it could be sold on EBay.

We are not what are called “early birds.” They are the ones who want to get ahead of everybody else. They are usually sellers. Some of these have a perpetual yard sale in their front yard. Others sell on EBay. Still others just like to buy stuff before anyone else can get their mitts on it.

The early birds are not of our social class. They are the untouchables because they’ve gone before we ever get there.

Some sellers actually cater to them! Can you believe it?

P.S. We’ve heard that if you go to a yard sale up in Sun Valley that you can get a pair of $250,00 fine leather men’s shoes for $1.00. We haven’t made it up that far yet but we would only pay $0.50. We never pay full price.

John T. Jones, Ph.D. (tjbooks@hotmail.com), a retired VP of R&D for Lenox China, is author of detective & western novels, nonfiction (business, scientific, engineering, humor), poetry, etc. Former editor of Ceramic Industry Magazine. He is Executive Representative of IWS sellers of Tyler Hicks wealth-success books and kits. He also sells TopFlight flagpoles. He calls himself "Taylor Jones, the hack writer."

More info: http://www.tjbooks.com

Business web site: http://www.aaaflagpoles.com

Wednesday, July 25, 2007

Blah Yard Sales

I just now have been able to update my blog. I went to a few yard sales this past saturday and they just had NOTHING!! I went to one where I got some baby toys and a Elmo in Grinchland VHS Movie and spent only 3.00!
I guess that is the good thing about yard sales being horrible - I AM NOT SPENDING ANY MONEY!


How have your yard sales hunting days been????

I hoped to get some school clothes for my kids this summer. No one has had any good clothes. Last year I did most of the school shopping on ebay and at yard sales. My 2 kids got all name brand expensive clothing. Abercrombie, Aeropostale, and the like. I even got my daughter a pair of Diesel shoes for 1.00!!!

Oh well I guess in the next couple of weeks I will have to actually take off to Louisville and do school shopping and spend a ton of money and not get very much. Last year they had so many clothes and I spent barely 200.00!!

I will spend alot more than that this year! Plus they will get less. Oh well.

Sunday, July 22, 2007

How to Set Up Your Own Garage Sale

You probably have a lot of things at home which you actually have no more room for. These are clutters - secondhand, worn or discarded articles such as old books, toys, shoes, bags, clothes, records, electrical appliances (still functioning of course; just been retired in favor of newer models), baby items, and even antiques. Although these are mere junks, they can make you earn a few bucks when gathered and offered in a garage sale.

My sister and I had some fun one Sunday morning seeing all the "goods" we put up in our own garage sale picked up and bought one by one by people who rushed in and competed with each other for every piece right after we opened our gate. It didn't matter to these buyers if our merchandise had some little defects on them; they simply went like crazy warding each other off for possession of an enticingly-priced piece. In less than a couple of hours, only a few pieces were left. And at the end of that fun-filled "activity", there was a modest amount for my sister and me to split.

Here are some tips in setting up a garage sale for those who are interested in trying it out, too:

- Set up a date and time when you can dedicate gathering up all those assorted, old articles that you intend to sell in your garage sale, as well as being able to attend the sale.

- Plan just what items you intend to put in the sale.

- Decide whether you are going to hold the sale alone, or if you would like to have it with some other families.

- Be sure to have plenty of change on hand, both coins and paper money.

- You need to advertise and stick up hand written announcements a few days prior to the sale. Be explicit, concise and honest. Indicate specific place, date and time of the sale.

- Provide good descriptive details to avoid frustrating prospective buyers. Don't drop the price of antiques, whether these are in good condition or broken.

- See that you include kids' items in your sale. For example, doll clothing and accessories are always in demand, and dolls and stuffed toys are a hit with the kids. Remember that children are very persuasive when it comes to making their moms buy them something or just about anything they lay their eyes on.

- String up a clothesline to display any clothing items you may have.

- Set up card tables (or ping-pong tables) to display small merchandise. Set up these tables in a way that will leave sufficient elbow room for shoppers to browse without feeling crowded. Display your wares attractively. Make sure they are clean, usable (this is most important), and priced temptingly.

- Your prospective buyers are hunting for bargains. Don't let them down. Keep in mind that the items you put up for sale are those you no longer have any need for anyway and, therefore, whatever you get from these items is surely a welcome addition.

- Put a price tag on every item. This will save you a lot of time from answering all those "how much" questions.

- Make sure you have electrical outlets close at hand to test all electrical appliances - irons, hair dryers, electric razors, blenders, toasters, electric skillets, electric fans, coffee makers, rice cookers, etc.

- Price drinking glasses, cups and dishes in sets instead of individually. These pieces will sell faster this way.

- Records, magazines, paperback books and items that have titles, on the other hand, will sell more easily if they are price-marked separately.

- Sundays and the day immediately following paydays are the most ideal days to hold your garage sale.

Come on, set up your own garage sale. Decongest your home of those junk, pocket a few extra bucks, and have some fun all at the same time.

Article Source: http://EzineArticles.com/?expert=Mara_Bateman

Friday, July 20, 2007

Some More Link Love

1. Write a short paragraph at the beginning of your post and link back to the blog that put you on the list in the paragraph.This isn’t a suggestion. You need to break up the duplicate content. Someone took the time to add you so the least you can do is give them an extra link back.


2. Copy the list of originals below COMPLETELY and add it to your blog. If you would like a different keyword for your blog then change it when you do your post and it should pass to most blogs with that keyword.



3. Take the adds from the blog that added you and place them in the “Originals” list.


4. Add at least 1 new blog that you KNOW is using the DO FOLLOW plugin to the list in the “My Adds” section. (Add no more than 5!) Let the people you’ve added know, so that they can keep the list going!


That’s it!


My Adds:


Working At Home Mom



The Yard Sale Review


Originals:



|
Working At Home Mom|

The Yard Sale Review|7Confessions | Dani | Jesse | Nessa | Uncle Sam | Mariuca | This is a Miracle | Revellian | d bImBo | Secret of Mind | A Great Pleasure | Little world of thoughts | Renisphere | mott’s island | Kev’s Walkabout | iBubbs woof | Down Memory Lanes | Woof & Arf | Lovely Mummy | Bubba Stuff | Mommibee | Moments in My Life | Rambling Moo | All about Zara & Zaria | Hip n cool momma | Random Thoughts of a Blur Mommy | Mylittleanelqianyi | Bits & Pieces | De’moments | chinneeq | Giddy Tiger | Huei Rabbit | Rinnah | Simple America | Niceheart | Ethel | Sanna | The Queer Chef | Shoshana | Leah | gina | Haze | Ghee | Neng aka Sirena | Angelo | Ju aka The Border aka Juana of Femjo | Tina | Keep the Faith | jsonvlog | Suncoast Scribe | Blogging Kenneth | My 2 Centavos Worth | Manila Mom | 3 Dogs, 3 Pigs and A Family | Cafe Romanza | Earn Global | Credit Ability | Macuha | Flee the Cube | Smart Wealthy Rich | MomReviews.net | Fellow Eskimo | Pajama Mommy | Amanita.net | WebStyle | Meredith’s Weight Loss Blog | Pink Blog | Tricia’s Musings | Ugh!!’s Greymatter Honeypot | Midlife Musings | Utterly Geek | Whatever I Feel Like | My Dandelion Patch | Surviving NJ | GeekySpeaky | Simple Kind Of Life | 3DayMom | BuyMeBlog | The Hockey Dad | 40s Singleness-Learn English Online | Taylor’s Celebrity Quotes | My Journey Into Life Piglet.com | My Travels, Travails, and Thoughts | Notes of an Asian Gastronomist | Absolutely True | cymru66



Tuesday, July 17, 2007

Yard Sales Just Aren't What They Used To Be

I went to several yard sales this past saturday and I tell you what ~~~~ THEY SUCKED!

I only spent about 5 dollars total. There just was nothing to buy. The stuff these yard sales had I would have thrown away and they were trying to sell it. The $5.00 I spent was at the last yard sale that had 5 dollar bag sale. I got a whole bag of candles and a set of curtains for my kitchen , some jello molds, and a seal a meal thing with a bunch of the bags. Really not even worth 5.oo!! oh well. Maybe next weekend will be better.

I think antique roadshow and ebay have ruined yard sales. Because everyone thinks that they have the next million dollar item. Or if you ask how much something is they say stuff like oh that is so much ," I seen it on ebay"! I am thinking and want to say~~ "Well , hey honey , if you saw it on ebay for that much ,than how come you aren't selling it on ebay???"

Friday, July 13, 2007

Great Yard Sale

I usually do not go to yard sales in the middle of the week. But our local church was having a sale that started on Thursday and I just had to go. They had a ton of stuff. A lot of it I could not use though, but I got some drinking glasses with Purdue on them, 2 pair of shoes that are new in the boxes, a few pieces of clothing, a lawn chair for 50 cents!, and some more items that were pretty cool. I also got a new in the box aroma therepy diffuser with the scents and all.
I love yard sales and will be going in the morning to some!

Tuesday, July 10, 2007

Garage Sale Idiots


This is what all of us "idiots" need! Really this is a handy book to have on hand. I keep one in my car.
At the low price that it is here you can have one too.

Monday, July 9, 2007

Backlinks Yard Sale ~~ Raise Your Page RAnk

I found this great idea to generate back links to your site at the blog of Courtney Tuttle. It is very much like the ViraLink from Andy Coates, except you are able to add anchor text into your link. Jimmy Huen from FoundersCafe came up with this idea.



If you join today you will likely get a nice payoff. I’m betting that this ‘tag matrix’ will fill all the way up.


==========Copy and Paste below this line==========


Instructions:


1.) Copy and paste the matrix of “ViralTags” below courtesy of Founders Cafe.


2.) Substitute the Host Tag and one of the “Viral Tags” in the matrix with your anchor text of choice with your blog’s URL. Please keep anchor text to a max of 3 words to keep the matrix size manageable.



3.) When you get a ping back from someone that has your link in one of their “Viral Tags”, practice good karma by copying his/her Host Tag’s anchor text (automatically the associated link will also be copied) and paste it over one of your “Viral Tags” below.


4.) Encourage and invite your readers to do the same and soon this can grow virally.




Host Tag: The Yard Sale review


The Yard Sale review| Working at Home Mom | Mrs. Sparrow | Jack Book | Agloco Internet Marketing | Tech at Hand | Make Money Blogging | Earn Income Online | Startup Entrepeneur Money | Money at Home | Technology Music Life | Make Money Blogging | Manila Mom | Technology Music Life | Overseas Filipino Worker | Startup Entrepreneur Money | Sarah Pauline Cada | Link Love | Manila Mom | Computer seventy-five | Agloco Internet Marketing | Monetize Your Blog | Tech Gadgets Stocks | Giving Link Love | Biohazard | Photoshop Tutorials | Best of Blogs | Daily Life Technology | Steve’s Tech Blog | AnitoKid Chronikos | Esofthub’s Web Finds | Marketing Made Simple | Free Stuff | Building Rankings Fast | Earn Money Online | Make Money Online | Germany - USA | Junk Foodie | Entrepreneurship Internet Web | Cheezmizan with Chuva | Yung Silent Whisper | The Junky’s Wife |Online Resource Center | Telemaco | 2012 Movies | Tech Startups Web2.0 | Catepol | Wolly’s Weblog | Plugins TV Blogging | Reyna Elena | Business Twins | Revellian | Really Funny Jokes | My Life | Alex2000 | Internet Marketing German | Sciura Pina | Cat on Head | Dietro la casa | Acchiappasogni | Business Blog Web | Mario’s Weblog | Anitokid Chronikos | Random Access Life | Esofthub’s web finds| Bayle | Profitable Productive Blogging | Samuele Silva | Lord Zarcon | iMod | Pixie Tail | Music Videos | Cannara.eu | Electrical Interlock | Filipino Programmer | My Silent Cuffs | Cowboy’s Wife Life | Make Money Online | JLS Cisco Networking | Ngadutrafik 2007 | Business Chats | The Broken Bow | Make Money Online | Savvy Writer | 7 Confessions | Gold Rushin’ Blog | Paid to Blog | Political Social Media | Political Personal Humorous | Investing Women Online | Anything n Everything | Hot Buzz | Maryannaville | Revellian | Enything on Life | Anything Goes | Ibujempol BundaWAH | Malaysian Stocks INC | Father of One | Running Fitness Marathons | Wireless LAN Security | SEO Blog | Dating 40s Relationship | Dinosaurs | Ageless Beauty | Hot Buzz | Earn Global | Philippine Trip | Filipino Romance Novel | Filippino Author | Filipino Family | Credit Ability | Filipino Community | All Free Stuff | Legal Two-Timer | Nakanampucha | Yummy Silicon Chips | Technology for Humans | Blogger Trip | Make Money Online | Foodtime | Affordable Graphic Design | Caribbean Travel blog | Pinoy Blog Machine | Day in Life | Yoeru | Philipines is Amazing | Cookie Labs | A Learning Lunatic | Daniele Salamina’s Blog | Batang Yagit | Massage Spas Bodywork | Huma B~ | GameOPS | Jepoy | Jehzlau Concepts | A Great Pleasure | Composed Gentleman | The SOHO Quest | MotoGP World | Good Jokes | Blogger Whale | Accountancy Basnav | My Lucky Day | Earn Money Blog | Social Networking Mother | Left in Aboite | Down the Track | Laugh Stupid | Teacher | Building Rankings Fast | Muxton | Feedget | E-cash World | Chrono Tron | Nessa Mumblings | MSU Spartan Sports | MF | Agloco Hours | Kev’s Walkabout | Blog Contest | Life’s Daily | Angelblush | Social Media Munching | Webtools | The Third Eye | Money on Internet | EMOI | Blogging News Reviews | Johann The Dog | Rescue Me | Ala Eh Blog |



Important: Once I get a ping back from you, I will add your anchor text and the associated link you designate as “Host Tag” here, replacing one of the “ViralTags” from the matrix above. As more and more bloggers copy and paste this matrix, the more backlinks you will have with your anchor text. If everybody who copy and paste from your blog does the same, pretty soon this will spread and go viral. So, the sooner you participate, the more links with anchor text you will receive.


==========Copy and Paste from Above this line==========


If you copy the Viral Matrix from here, leave a message so I can add you to the train!

I have to claim my blog!

I am having to claim my blog on Technorati right now. I also have some other blogs ,like Working at Home Mom , This Yard Sale review blog I will be working on with my mom. We both love yard sales.
Well here is the claim ~~~ Technorati Profile

Thank you for your patience.

Where are the good yardsales?

I actually went to a few yard sales this saturday! I was on my way to a meeting and stopped. Two of them were right next to each other in a VERY nice part of town ,but I was shocked when they did not have anything! Noone was buying anything. Most of the stuff they had would be stuff I would throw away. I did buy my son a book about Reggie Miller.
The next yard sale I went to was in a small church and they had table after table of items for $3.00 a bag! I got my baby 3 bags full of clothes and toys! They did not have anything else.
I went to another yard sale that just looked like they had thrown the stuff out at the last minute and nothing was priced. Which is a big no-no in my book! I saw some things I liked ,but because nothing was priced I did not buy anything. Come on people ~~ if you are going to have a yard sale ~ PRICE THE STUFF!

The Yard Sale Review

This is going to be where I can come and talk about yard sales, garage sales, and rummage sales that I have been too. I will be "reviewing" them! I will tell what they had and what was wrong or right about them. Hope that anyone wanting to have a yard sale will read this blog and get some pointers on how to have a good yard sale. I have been going to yard sales ever since I was 3 years old and I am now 36!! So I know a good yard sale. I have my own every year ,too. And I do try to follow my own advice. Let's see !